Swapping Marmite for Brown Cheese, the wedding

Part one of the wedding double-header: done.

Kjersti and Dave

Kjersti and Dave

I’m writing this on the way from Trondheim to Rørvik, having just spent the day with Kjersti and Dave. A man after my own heart, Dave has swapped rainy Britain for the love of a Scandinavian woman and, well, the rain of Norway… He and Kjersti met at university in Cardiff, and today they tied the knot at Kvilhaugen Gård, Trondheim.

One last breakfast together as non-married-folk

One last breakfast together as non-married-folk

Following his move to Norway, Dave began a blog called: Swapping Marmite for Brown Cheese. So I brought him the gift of brown cheese and a tub of Marmite for Kjersti when I arrived to take photos of breakfast this morning. They laughed, but then quickly exchanged gifts: clearly they are ready for marriage but not ready to make such drastic changes, regardless of the outlandish claims of his clever blog.

Wedding or not, there was lots of brown cheese consumed over the day

Wedding or not, there was lots of brown cheese consumed over the day

This is my favourite kind of wedding shoot because I got to spend the whole day with the couple, getting to know them better, taking more personal images. I drove Kjersti to the hairdressers (she gave me some parking tips) and met her mum mid-hairwash. The hairdressers, stylist and Kjersti’s friends and family did a great job and helped Kjersti look her beautiful best.

The bride before the ceremony

The bride before the ceremony

Down in town, with the groom and his family, things were surprisingly relaxed. I remember stressing out on the morning of my own wedding but Dave and his folks were chatting and catching up on news from back home. It made me miss my home and family – and I think that feeling is credit to how warm and welcoming Dave’s family were. There were certainly many tears at the wedding. Dave´s brother (and best man) James, was married last year in Canada. Two overseas weddings in the space of 12 months, that would bring any parent to tears!

"ten pound a pint, and I though Canada was expensive!"

“ten pound a pint, and I thought Canada was expensive!”

My wife Ida helped assist me with the portraits, which we spent quite a bit of time preparing for in order to fit in with the tight time-schedule and “ferocious Trondheim weather”. That was Dave’s take on it, a concern which caused them to move the wedding inside. But Ida and I had travelled up to the venue a couple of times and did a test shoot at the portraits location to check out rain-friendly options. I think we got some really lovely shots from the inside Kvilhaugen, and the extra preparation meant that we had lots of ideas to fall back on.

Kjersti and Dave enjoying themselves as a married couple

Kjersti and Dave enjoying themselves as a married couple

wedding_portraits_Festningen_IMG_9902wedding_inside_Kvilhaugen_IMG_9689

Like I said at the beginning, I’m writing this on the way to Rørvik for another wedding kicking off in the morning. This busy weekend is made possible through good planning and the love and support of a good woman, a good Scandi woman, so long as you give the love and support in return. Bear that in mind Dave and best of luck to the both of you, thanks for a fantastic day!

secret_drink_before_dinner_IMG_9931

